VA Loans for new home purchase

Closed Thread
Old 08-17-2013, 03:17 PM
Default VA Loans for new home purchase

I'm a veteran and would like to use my VA Guaranteed Loan to purchase my home. I was told by my agent that The Villages didn't accept VA loans for new home purchases only for pre-owned homes. Is this true? How can they restrict that? Why do they care where I get my loan from? I was not planning on using Citizen's First bank. I was using my own bank who does handle VA Loans. Any body else ever encounter this problem? Thanks for the help!
Old 08-17-2013, 03:23 PM

We also encountered the same problem. It's there way or no way no matter what bank you use. We were lucky to find an awesome pre-owned and in a better location than the new homes. Good Luck!
Old 08-17-2013, 03:33 PM
Sage

Same here. Bought preowned so we could use VA. They sell enough on their own they don't need to accommodate a veteran.
Old 08-17-2013, 03:40 PM
Soaring Eagle member

Quote:
Originally Posted by KateNelson View Post
I'm a veteran and would like to use my VA Guaranteed Loan to purchase my home. I was told by my agent that The Villages didn't accept VA loans for new home purchases only for pre-owned homes. Is this true? How can they restrict that? Why do they care where I get my loan from? I was not planning on using Citizen's First bank. I was using my own bank who does handle VA Loans. Any body else ever encounter this problem? Thanks for the help!
I believe that it has something to do with rules regarding Seller Concessions that The Villages does not want to deal with. Sales of existing homes, of course, would put those rules onto other than The Villages.

When I was in Real Estate, it was not at all uncommon for a seller to refuse to sell to a buyer who wanted to obtain government guaranteed loans
Old 08-17-2013, 03:41 PM
Default VA Loan

I am a veteran and NO you can't us a VA loan on a new home in TVy.....just closed on my pre-owned house.....
Old 08-17-2013, 03:49 PM