"Walk-off"Home Runs??

Closed Thread
Old 09-01-2008, 06:51 PM
Default "Walk-off"Home Runs??

Hello,

I have been a sports fan since I first held a baseball bat about 60 years ago and am also a member of SABR. But I have a question I just cannot find the answer to or it must have past me by when I worked for a living. Can someone give me the definition of a "Walk-off" Home Run? I haven't a clue as to what that term means. Maybe a guy who hits a home with no one on base and he walks around the bases?? DUH???

Jerry Jackson (Calumet Grove)

Jerry Jackson (Summerhill)

Neat bumper sticker. Went like this: "It's God's job to judge terrorists. Our job is to arrange the meeting!"

Be a gentleman, remove your hat/cap when entering a building and dining out!
Old 09-01-2008, 07:06 PM
Sage
Thanked 1,665 Times in 594 Posts
Default Re: "Walk-off"Home Runs??

a walk off home run means it's the last swing of the game, game over.

could be bottom of ninth or extra innings (always the bottom though, since the home team gets last bats)
Old 09-01-2008, 07:26 PM
Veteran member

Just as a sidebar, you can also have a walkoff walk. Same principle; bases loaded, bottom of the ninth 2/2 game and the batter walks with the bases loaded.
Old 09-01-2008, 11:20 PM

I don't watch pro baseball but i think the rules say that the runner must touch each base in order. You can't run bases backwards, walk off the field, or fail to play out the game or you're out.

Again I don't know how they do it in the pros. I don't think pro basketball is even basketball when you can run 5-6 steps without dribbling and then jump up and dunk it. Should have been travelling. Anyway, its a pet peeve with me.
Old 09-02-2008, 12:44 AM
Sage
Thanked 1,665 Times in 594 Posts

TomW, right, gotta touch the bases!
Old 09-07-2008, 02:16 PM
Veteran member