Do I need a router?

Closed Thread
Old 02-19-2020, 05:24 PM
Default Do I need a router?

Have had Century Link for home WIFI for 2 1/2 years and fed up with the slow speed. Paying $45 for 25 MBPS but not getting anywhere near that (some days slow as 3 MBPS). We live south of 466a and N of 44. Looking at switching to Spectrum. Spectrum offers one year deal for $45 per month for 100 MBPS and modem is free. A router is $5 extra per month. Do I need a router?

Obviously I am a novice when it comes to tech stuff. With Century Link all we have is a modem (which CL provided) - we are not renting the modem as it does not appear on our Century Link bill but I presume I will have to return it when I cancel service with CL. Or perhaps the CL modem is a combined modem/router?

I know I can buy a router or rent the one SPectrum offers but just wondering if I need it all. We use WIFI to for 3 televisions (all 3 use Amazon firestick and YOUTUBE TV) and for smartphones and MACBOOK, and Alexa. We also have a NETGEAR extender.

TIA for any guidance.
Old 02-19-2020, 05:33 PM

The modem will provide internet service via ethernet. The router will connect to the ethernet and provide wireless and usually additional ethernet connections.

If you want wireless, you need a router or router/modem combo unit. You can buy your own router and skip the monthly fee, if you so choose.
Old 02-19-2020, 08:14 PM
Veteran member

When we had Spectrum (formerly Brighthouse) in Pinellas County we bought our own router (a Netgear) rather than pay them to rent one. Your choice.

I wish Spectrum serviced our area now. We loved Brighthouse and only liked Spectrum a tad less. Would give anything to not have to give money to Comcast. (We have multiple Tivo units so streaming tv is not an option for us.)

kathy
Old 02-19-2020, 08:54 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by HIgolfers View Post