Beware of Rogue Virus program

Closed Thread
Old 03-12-2011, 04:25 PM
Veteran member
Default Beware of Rogue Virus program

Let me preface this by saying that I run Panda Internet Security 2011, Webroot Spysweeper, free version of Super Anti-Spyware, and Spy Doctor. Also, I am not a computer expert, nor do not play one in the movies, but this freaked me out and I hope this will help someone if they run into it too. The other day, I got a pop-up that said "System Tool" virus program had detected 73 serious level infections, and that I should pay $79 to download the program and remove these deadly viruses. Normally I would ignore this and continue on, but every thing had been disabled. Web page, browser, Panda, spysweeper, everything. Tried to reboot numerous times, but still frozen, except for message from "System Tool" asking for $79. Got on the other laptop and started to research "system Tool" and discovered that it is a rogue program. If you run into this program, DO NOT buy it or give out any of your info. What worked for me was to reboot in safe mode and do a system restore to a earlier safe date. I then ran a full scan of Panda, SpySweeper, Spy Doctor, the free version of MalWareBytes (http://www.malwarebytes.org/rogueremover.php ), and Microsoft Security Essentials. I know it was probably overkill, but I thought, better safe than sorry. If this sucker got through all my protection, it might get through yours. Remember, don't buy the program, your info will end up in Holland or Belgium.
Old 03-12-2011, 05:04 PM
Sage
Location: Summer at the Jersey Shore, Fall in New England [Maine], Winter in TV!

thanx for the heads up, laryb!

Old 03-12-2011, 05:30 PM
Soaring Eagle member
Location: Village of El Cortez. Before: Canada, NY, VA, AL, AK, NV, DE & France, Germany