Quote:
Originally Posted by Villages Kahuna View Post
Buy a Mac...you’ll never go back.
Plus one!!
Old 08-09-2020, 05:36 AM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcwood4d View Post
Although I'm not a chrome book aficionado I agree with your concept.

As a retired IT consultant I always buy off-lease BUSINESS computers from the manufacturer for a few reasons. 1. Business computer is made with more resilient materials. 2. Business computer has less "bloatware" installed. 3. They last longer...

Be forewarned...you MUST install all your own application and utility software for your use (security, word processing, etc.). For this reason this paradigm may not be best for all.
A Chromebook IS secure by default. It can not get a virus, everything is backed up on the cloud, if it breaks all you need to do is get a new one, sign in and everything comes back. Updates happen in the background so you don't even know it happened most of the time.
Old 08-09-2020, 05:38 AM
Veteran member

Be careful of buying a Chromebook from a school. If the admin did not release it from lock down then it will be useless to you.
Old 08-09-2020, 09:33 PM
Soaring Eagle member
Thanked 1,854 Times in 893 Posts

I have built computers from pahts, i have had all versions of windows, have bought off lease computers from Dell, have used and still use apple. If you are going to buy a new laptop, i try to buy for a 5 year life. So, if you are buying a windows laptop: minimum specs should be Windows 10 x64, Intel i5, 8 gigs ram, 250 gig solid state hard drive. what's the price, I don't know because there are so many different ways to buy that computer. But that configuration will last you 5 years, and will not be slow from a hardware standpoint.

If you want simplicity, yes, a chrome book is simpler, but google is tracking your every move. . . so there is a tradeoff of privacy, but most will accept the tradeoff for the price.

good luck,
sportsguy
Old 08-10-2020, 06:13 AM
Veteran member

Quote: