Do I need a router?

Closed Thread
Old 02-21-2020, 10:13 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by HIgolfers View Post
Have had Century Link for home WIFI for 2 1/2 years and fed up with the slow speed. Paying $45 for 25 MBPS but not getting anywhere near that (some days slow as 3 MBPS). We live south of 466a and N of 44. Looking at switching to Spectrum. Spectrum offers one year deal for $45 per month for 100 MBPS and modem is free. A router is $5 extra per month. Do I need a router?

Obviously I am a novice when it comes to tech stuff. With Century Link all we have is a modem (which CL provided) - we are not renting the modem as it does not appear on our Century Link bill but I presume I will have to return it when I cancel service with CL. Or perhaps the CL modem is a combined modem/router?

I know I can buy a router or rent the one SPectrum offers but just wondering if I need it all. We use WIFI to for 3 televisions (all 3 use Amazon firestick and YOUTUBE TV) and for smartphones and MACBOOK, and Alexa. We also have a NETGEAR extender.

TIA for any guidance.
Your Spectrum device which is your modem should be a router combination if not Yes you need a router.Since you are a novice any simple router could be used, but there are advantages to Routers like the Netgear Nighthawk. It can be set up so only your devices can log into it by using Mac address'. This would eliminate others accessing your home network and stealing some of your bandwidth. First check with spectrum to see if you device has a built in router. If not then yes spend the extra money to buy a good router that you can limit. One of Spectrum's feature selling points is you can use their network anywhere, because they have modems, and some with routers in so many homes and business', but you are using some one else's device to tie into the network which uses other peoples resources, that slows their system down.
S/F Tony

Last edited by USMCVNG; 02-21-2020 at 10:18 AM. Reason: mispeld word and left out word