Windows 10 - switch from 64-bit to 32-bit

Closed Thread
Old 02-13-2021, 07:31 AM

I suggest that you back up that computer with Acronis True image, before you attempt to reinstall Windows. Acronis True image is not free, but it’s cheap, compared to losing everything on your computer. Everyone should be backing up their computers, but sadly almost no one backs up their computers. I worked in the IT industry for decades, and I recovered Windows servers when the servers failed and needed to be recovered. Eventually, every computer will fail. It could be sooner, or later. If you don’t have a backup, all your documents and photos will be lost forever. Windows has a backup method that is free and built in. Sadly, the built in Windows recovery software fails to recover the computer, when you need to recover! That’s why 3rd party backup software, like Acronis True Image exists.

Sometimes, Windows Activation can be a problem. You can almost always get around that problem is you activate Windows by telephone. You will be asked to type in 9 six number blocks into your phone. Then you will be given 9 six digit blocks to enter into your computer. Take a clear photo of the numbers you are given, so you can reuse those Windows Activation numbers in the future if needed. However, it does work to Activate Windows by telephone on the same computer, over an over. After you are done working on the computer, verify that Windows is Activated. If Windows isn’t Activated, your computer will only stay powered on for one hour, before it powers off by itself.
Old 02-13-2021, 07:41 AM

Here is what I would try 1st:
Click on the "Windows Start"
Select "Settings"
Select "Windows Update"
In the left panel, select "Troubleshoot"
In the right panel, select "Additional Troubleshooters"
Scroll down and select "Program Compatibility Troubleshooter"
Select "Run the troubleshooter"
When it finds all your programs, select the program you are having a problem with and click "Next"