Wiping hard drive - Windows 7

Closed Thread
Old 12-13-2017, 03:56 PM
Veteran member
Default Wiping hard drive - Windows 7

Is anyone able to give me instructions on how to wipe my hard drive and reinstall from backup? I'm a bit nervous because I've never done it before.

If it's too complicated I can always take it to the geek squad.

Thanks!
Old 12-13-2017, 04:08 PM
Sage
Thanked 13,617 Times in 5,196 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by queasy27 View Post
Is anyone able to give me instructions on how to wipe my hard drive and reinstall from backup? I'm a bit nervous because I've never done it before.

If it's too complicated I can always take it to the geek squad.

Thanks!
Why do you want to do this? Wiping the hard drive is not a good idea. The backup will not install the software programs that are loaded on the computer. It will only copy the backed up files, but you will find that some programs will not function without re-installing them from the original cd discs. And, your computer probably came with preloaded programs that do not have cd discs.
Old 12-13-2017, 04:10 PM
Sage
Thanked 6,127 Times in 2,240 Posts

First, I am assuming that you have created a 'rescue disk' on suitable media (typically a USB drive, or possibly 1 or 2 DVD disks), or you have the original installation disk(s). If so, you should be able to simply format c:, you will be advised this will destroy all existing data. Head the warning, if you have any files that are not suitably backed up, they will be gone.
Once the format is complete, insert your restore disk or the original disk, and reboot the computer. At this point, you will need to follow on screen instructions.
Now here is the potential gotcha, Microsoft has discontinued support for W7, so you may not be able to to update your original install disk, or your restore disk to the last version of W7.