Auto Insurance

Closed Thread
Old 12-08-2021, 10:27 PM

"Esurance" . . . shop it. It's owned by Allstate but the rates are much cheaper. I couldn't get Geico, Progressive or USAA (yes, I'm a Veteran) anywhere near as cheap as Esurance's quote.
Old 12-09-2021, 07:50 AM
Veteran member
Thanked 1,244 Times in 449 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredguy123 View Post
I have had Allstate auto insurance for 25 years. Perfect driving record, no claims. I just got my 6 month renewal notice. It is for $627, which is an increase of 27 percent. Too high to ignore. I called State Farm, and they can provide the exact same coverage for $311. I called Allstate, and they just told me to switch to State Farm. Apparently, insurance companies don't care anything about keeping customers. I tried other companies, but most of them will not provide the high liability coverage amount that I want, and they don't have a local office. Most of my premium cost is for liability. An umbrella policy is an option, but it is not cost effective. Has anyone had a similar experience?
Try The Hartford …aarp group
Old 12-09-2021, 09:40 AM
Soaring Eagle member
Default Ohiobuckeye

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skip View Post
I thought that too but years ago a friend in the business told me most states have laws that prevent insurance companies from "introductory rates" (like cable TV, etc.). They are not allowed to quote $500 for the first year or two, then jack you up to $700, then $900 after that. The rate is supposed to be based on RISK (not be an income REWARD). Anyone know what the insurance law is in Florida? Former insurance sales agents out there, reading this?

Skip