Driveway (Coating or Staining)

Closed Thread
Old 03-04-2010, 10:30 AM
Banned
Default Driveway (Coating or Staining)

Does anybody have experience either coating or staining driveways. The drive is large (2 car plus golf cart) and about 45' long or about 850 sq. feet so pavers are too costly for me.

I have seen some coatings that actually have a texture. On the web I found a product called Stardek that looks very interesting but I can't tell if it is a product you can do youself. I would like a paver look with a compass rose. I think this woulb be a good product for a lanai too.

Other products are either paint (probably epoxy) or stains. I have no experience with stains or painting concrete either. Need some advice.

Tom
Old 03-04-2010, 12:24 PM

What's wrong with a concrete driveway? Don't know why a concrete drive would need any type of coating. Please explain.
Old 03-04-2010, 03:19 PM
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoseman View Post
What's wrong with a concrete driveway? Don't know why a concrete drive would need any type of coating. Please explain.
It's an artsy fartsy thing. If anything it makes maintenance more trouble but looks good. You can make all kinds of designs. From paver look to painted designs.
Old 03-04-2010, 09:30 PM
Sage
Thanked 1,665 Times in 594 Posts

I think there are a couple other threads if you do a search.

I've used epoxy paint and have been disappointed over the long term.

My understanding is the concrete stain penetrates, and when sealed, lasts longer and better. That's where I'd go if pavers were not the answer.
Let us know what you do and how it turns out - especially a few months later.
Old 03-05-2010, 04:28 AM
Veteran member

I made a post to this thread yesterday and now it is gone. Still shows I am subcribed to it. Things that make you go huuuummmmmmmm!!!