main water valve shut off switch

Closed Thread
Old 11-16-2018, 11:02 AM
Sage
Thanked 13,419 Times in 5,109 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by CWGUY View Post
Topspinmo - I believe you..... I don't have one either!

retiredguy123 - how many of the thousands of Villages homes have you been in? I have no doubt you are an expert on everything..... just NOT my home that I have lived in for going on 15 years.
I'm not an expert on everything, and I haven't been in thousands of houses. Just trying to help and learn.
Old 11-16-2018, 12:03 PM
Default Hopefully

Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredguy123 View Post
I'm not an expert on everything, and I haven't been in thousands of houses. Just trying to help and learn.
Hopefully some have learned that they do not know how to turn off the water to their home should an emergency arrive.

I know that our five year old home has a main shut off, owned by the water company under a square plastic cover in our front lawn. We have a second one in the garage behind a painted rectangular cover low in our garage.

Before you need to shut off the water, you should check to be sure you can turn the valve. Our valve is rather cheap plastic. Before our home was a year old the red plastic handle broke off in my hand. Trying to turn it. jUST THE HANDLE-NO WATER RAN OUT INTO THE GARAGE. The builder sent a plumber, AT NO CHARGE, they shut off the valve under the lawn and replaced the valve in the garage in a higher position so now it is possible to shut it off.
Old 11-16-2018, 07:40 PM
Sage
Thanked 4,845 Times in 2,404 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by thetruth View Post
Hopefully some have learned that they do not know how to turn off the water to their home should an emergency arrive.

I know that our five year old home has a main shut off, owned by the water company under a square plastic cover in our front lawn. We have a second one in the garage behind a painted rectangular cover low in our garage.