PINK irrigation pipe

Closed Thread
Old 02-07-2022, 09:29 AM
Default PINK irrigation pipe

I'm deep (literally 2' deep) into my irrigation system overhaul and found a pink zone pipe with a gash in it. I have zero experience with these irrigation specific pipes.

Can I treat it like PVC when it comes to adding (pvc to pink) /gluing (same glue/primer that's used on pvc) sections to it?
Old 02-07-2022, 10:12 AM
Soaring Eagle member
Thanked 1,041 Times in 368 Posts

That pipe is from your non potable irrigation system. You can patch it with any pvc and pvc glue.
Old 02-07-2022, 12:56 PM

Super - thanks!
Old 02-07-2022, 02:05 PM
Sage
Thanked 6,145 Times in 2,245 Posts

Absolutely correct, not sure if they actually sell pink accessories (connectors, elbows, etc, I would just use the white ones, and the PVC glue.
Old 02-07-2022, 05:19 PM

Yup - exactly what I’m going to do - thanks for the confirmation VT.

The leaking pipe is original to the build of the house (14 years ago). It’s 2’ under the surface trenched with 2 other pipes.

There are no roots in the vicinity of the leak.

It’s a push in hole - not a rupture hole. A hole about the diameter of a dime. There’s long tunnels of sand erosion emanating from the breach.

My only conclusion is this pipe was breached during installation...14 years ago.

By the time I’m finished with my comprehensive deep dive into 12 zones / 60 or so rotators/fixed spray units / 50 mini sprays....I’ll have an accounting of ever ounce of irrigation water.

A ton of work for sure - but worth it in the end.
Old 02-07-2022, 08:15 PM

A bit off subject, but I noticed the different colors of pipe they use for irrigation. Are the colors for specific purposes; supply, feeder, etc? If so, what color for what purpose? Thanks.
Old 02-07-2022, 08:33 PM

I can’t answer that question. Except that - pink pipes are designated for irrigation use.
Old 02-07-2022, 09:38 PM
Sage
Thanked 4,900 Times in 2,442 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by MSchad View Post