Girl Talk

Closed Thread
Old 08-06-2012, 06:39 PM
Sage
Thanked 1,922 Times in 783 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmm2760jmm View Post
I worked in the medical field and I feel very strongly that all woman over 40 should have yearly mammogram and pap smear. Bone density every couple years and a colonoscopy every ten years beginning at age 50. Preventative medicine is the best way to fight that dreaded "C" word. Early detection saves lives!! That is why it is so wonderful to live in the USA where we can catch cancer at stage 1 and cure it...not wait till it's stage 4 and too late. If you've ever lost a friend to breast or cervical cancer you know what I mean.
I second this, even though at age 64 I only have a pap smear every two years. But I definitely second the mammogram yearly and bone density every two years. My doc wants a colonoscopy every few years at my age (can't remember exactly how many years--maybe 7?)
Old 08-07-2012, 10:58 AM
Gold member
Location: Chicago, Des Moines, St Louis, Fort Wayne -TV Wannabe
Default it's been about 5 years...

...since I was a nurse at a large Ob/Gyn office and at that time they were recommending that women with low risk did not need a pap smear every year. An exam that included checking out the abdomen by feel for ovarian cancer yes...every year but not a pap....hmmmm forget at what age they recommended not doing the pap yearly. This was a recommendation from the American College of Gynecology and again it may have changed back again. Also it used to be that Medicare did not pay for yearly pap smears either.
Old 08-07-2012, 11:17 AM
Sage

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssmith View Post