Golf Course etiquette

Closed Thread
Old 10-05-2019, 08:03 AM
Default Golf Course etiquette

Noob here with another question.

As we are preparing to take Good Golf course and lessons, etc. One thing I am a little concerned with is I don't want to be "in the way" of faster players.

Do players get upset at slow players - or is it normal to just let some "play through" (politely)?

I have no problem with letting other faster players go ahead of me at any tee.

Is this an issue? Is it normal? I would think with this many "old" people, some would be slower than others.
Old 10-05-2019, 08:23 AM
Gold member
Thanked 1,668 Times in 529 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martian View Post

As we are preparing to take Good Golf course and lessons, etc. One thing I am a little concerned with is I don't want to be "in the way" of faster players.

Do players get upset at slow players - or is it normal to just let some "play through" (politely)?

Is this an issue? Is it normal? I would think with this many "old" people, some would be slower than others.
Listen to the Ambassadors. If you have a question on course, ask an Ambassador. Tee times are set, don't let anyone play through without the OK from an Ambassador. believe it or not, there is some order to the way things are done and the way Ambassadors do their job, contrary to the belief of some. Usually on an exec there shouldn't be any reason to let someone play through, especially in the winter when courses are more crowded.
Steve
Old 10-05-2019, 08:33 AM
Veteran member
Default Slow

Trust me, if you play the exec courses, especially in the high season, even you will be complaining about how slow the pace is. As a beginning player, just remember you can always just pick up your ball and move on. Don't worry about the score.

Also, avoid booking tee times at the level 3 & 4 courses initially. You'll learn about the ratings in the Good Golf School.

By the way, what's a "noob?" Do you mean Newbie?
Old 10-05-2019, 08:45 AM