Par Car steering

Closed Thread
Old 08-13-2014, 07:59 PM
Gold member
Question Par Car steering

In June I purchased a new ParCar with the smaller tires. However, when I purchased the cart I test drove a couple of larger tire models. I noticed that the steering was rather stiff in both these carts. The other day I picked up my cart and so far I like everything about the cart except the stiff steering. I had a speedometer installed today and the installer stated that in order to turn the wheel he had to use the steering wheel when normally he can just turn the assembly at the tire, not the steering wheel.

I am just wondering whether other ParCar owners feel that the steering is stiffer than in other carts. I have had 3 carts before this one (2 Yamahas and 1 Club car) so I have some experience turning the wheel. This one is stiffer. I am hoping that this will get better as I break the cart in.

Any comments would be appreciated.

John

"Don't curse the darkness when you can light a candle"
Old 08-13-2014, 08:14 PM
Sage
Thanked 5,348 Times in 2,389 Posts

I had a golf partner that had a Par Car and it was stiff to steer as you mention. My E-Z-Go felt like I had power steering in comparison.
Old 08-13-2014, 08:44 PM
Sage
Thanked 1,480 Times in 713 Posts

My electric golf cart is a Par Car. Its like driving a '54 Chevy. But I like it for golf. Its quiet, non stinky, and has good range.
Old 08-14-2014, 06:09 AM
Gold member

It looks like my steering is normal. The good thing about it is I should get stronger with the exercise I'll get by turning the wheel.

John

Old 08-14-2014, 06:44 AM
Veteran member

The brakes on my Par Car require me to almost stand on the brake pedal to stop sometimes. I replaced the brake shoes but it didn't help.
Old 08-14-2014, 07:00 AM
Soaring Eagle member
Cool