“In the stock market, the most important organ is the stomach. It’s not the brain.”

Closed Thread
Old 12-29-2021, 01:36 PM

I've only been investing in individual stocks for 3 years and I'm not very good at it. Pretty aggressive investments.
Old 12-29-2021, 02:44 PM
Sage
Location: NJ, NM, SC, PA, DC, MD, VA, NY, CA, ID and finally FL.
Thanked 4,573 Times in 1,749 Posts

Years ago I read "The Money Masters" and some sequels by John Train. I learned a lot. Each one seemed to have a different approach.

"The Quants" amazed me. Amazon.com

“To argue with a person who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead.” Thomas Paine

Last edited by manaboutown; 12-29-2021 at 04:01 PM.
Old 12-29-2021, 02:59 PM
Sage
Thanked 1,899 Times in 1,519 Posts

That is true. Inflation could possibly come down because the product slow down at the ports and from lack of drivers becomes more efficient, which causes prices to drop.
Old 12-29-2021, 03:04 PM
Sage

Quote:
Originally Posted by coralway View Post
if you’re a day trader, you should be doing very well. This economy is exploding
Many things are exploding.
Old 12-29-2021, 03:09 PM
Sage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Velvet View Post
Unless he is one of Dr Now’s 600 lb client, then he truly has two hanging stomachs.

My observation, market seems to swing with Covid fear and Covid waves. One can be slightly ahead by observing “canary” countries reaction. Other variables too, but lately it seems very Covid sensitive.
Russia on the border of The Ukraine could heat up and spook the market.
Old 12-30-2021, 10:35 AM
Platinum member

My self described conservative(not political) broker has a motto. He likes to sleep at night. He likes preferred stocks which pay out 5-7% a year.
Old 01-25-2022, 01:26 PM
Sage
Thanked 1,874 Times in 948 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boomer View Post
Peter Lynch said, “In the stock market, the most important organ is the stomach. It’s not the brain.”