Anyone Buying on This Pullback?

Closed Thread
Old 01-29-2019, 04:03 PM
Soaring Parsley
Thanked 2,220 Times in 752 Posts

Chi,

You just gave us good, sensible advice.

ETFs and mutual funds certainly can get the job done. Of course, any investment requires paying attention, but you are absolutely right about why investing in funds and/or ETFs can be far less of a hassle than stock picking.

I just took a look at the top holdings for XLU. Very nice.

Shameless Confession:

When I am thinking about doing a little shopping, I look at those lists I mentioned earlier, but sometimes I look at a few funds, and now, ETFs, and I spy on their top ten holdings. Then I pick a handful of those to look at more closely.

Years ago, I stalked Will Danoff, just to see what he was doing. I used his top ten as a starting point, more than once. And, yes, sometimes I copied Will’s homework.

Anyway, thanks, Chi.

And, Ken, I am relatively new to Dominion but thinking about adding some. Nice to see you like it.

I have been holding onto my steady EDdie for a while and will stay that way, but dewilson helped me remember that I used to like SO and so I am going to see how it is doing since we broke up.

And, uh, oh, I see tt has joined us and is trying to trash my dear Buffett again. Sometimes, tt even yells in all those caps. But, I hope tt can eventually accept that I will never change my mind.

Buffett is an icon. And he sure can turn a phrase. I love all his little homespun quotes. He is not pretentious. He is one of a kind. Fun to watch.

A few years ago, there was a book published by a Motley Fool writer. The book was titled “Warren Buffett Invests Like A Girl.” The book was not all that good, kind of redundant, as I recall. But I gotta luv the title.

Boomer A. Girl

Last edited by Boomer; 01-29-2019 at 04:17 PM.
Old 01-30-2019, 09:28 PM
Default Amazon