Some Portfolio strategies with ETFs

Closed Thread
Old 07-13-2022, 08:35 PM
Soaring Parsley
Thanked 2,220 Times in 752 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by tophcfa View Post
That only works if one wants to put in the time and effort doing research and analysis in an attempt to pick individual stocks that will outperform market index funds with very low management fees. Most investors claim they are good at that, but very few actually are, unless they are privy to material inside information. Personally, after a long career as a portfolio manager, I prefer to put our portfolio on autopilot and spend my retirement time swimming, golfing, biking, etc

Hey! No need to go all judgey. The condescension in that post is amusing.....in the biz you were you say? Interesting, but no reason to take umbrage with investors who choose a different way.

Boomer

Last edited by Boomer; 07-17-2022 at 08:13 PM. Reason: needed editing
Old 07-13-2022, 09:14 PM
Sage
Thanked 5,419 Times in 2,268 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boomer View Post
Hey Ken,

I have been visiting that one for the past few days. It is tempting, but I have not bought in yet. I have been in and out and in and out of MMM twice over the years with good returns.

You might want to visit LEG with me. They are an old dividend payer with consecutive increases in the div for more than 50 years. But they are getting pounded right now, perhaps due to the nature of their many pieces of the business.

The right dividends pay us to wait.

Patient Boomer, Manager of the Boomerfund
Love me the Dividend Aristocrats. I’m accumulating many of them at or near their 52 week low. I’m still a couple of years away from 60 so like you I’ll just sit back, relax and collect my dividends.

I’ll take a look at LEG. Thanks.

We've Got Plenty Of Youth.. What We Need Is a Fountain Of SMART!
Old 07-14-2022, 01:59 AM
Sage
Thanked 13,675 Times in 5,227 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boomer View Post