A Light Topic For Some Discussion :)

Closed Thread
Old 04-16-2020, 11:24 AM
Sage
Thanked 3,996 Times in 1,729 Posts

This thread is so fun!

I love how we, humans, with our tiny minds try to explain and understand what really is beyond us. At least, we try....
Old 04-16-2020, 12:54 PM
Veteran member
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoMar View Post
Quantum Kemo Sabe?
My 6' apart greeting right hand up palm facing you " How " .
Old 04-16-2020, 03:34 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Polar Bear View Post
I know quantum mechanics is the latest way to explain all the great mysteries of the universe , but I got a problem with that...

Since I don't believe in the multiverse, nonlocality, or determinism, how am I supposed to buy into quantum mechanics?!?

Any of you quantum physicists out there agree with me?
Well, first off, I'm an engineer who loves to read about modern physics, so I am NOT an expert, but I have a rudimentary knowledge of these things. It just so happens that I am wearing a t-shirt that essentially says Schroedinger's cat (a thought experiment) is AdLeIaVdE (the caps say alive and the lower case says dead to imply that the cat is alive and dead at the same time.

QM does not include gravity, so it doesn't explain "all the great mysteries." String theory was developed largely to merge gravity with the other forces all into one framework. To do so requires adding a bunch of extra dimensions. Some argue that these extra dimensions are "rolled up" so tightly that we don't notice them. Imagine a person walking on a tightrope. To her, the rope seems one dimensional; she can go only forward and backward. But, to an ant walking on that tightrope it is two dimensional. Like the person, the ant can go forward and backward, but it can also go around the rope at any point along its length. This is an example of a tightly rolled dimension. It's only noticeable on a scale much smaller than we can perceive.