DIY Pest/Weed Control Recommendations

Closed Thread
Old 06-12-2018, 06:39 AM
Default DIY Pest/Weed Control Recommendations

I am new to the Villages and want to take on Pest and Weed control to save money. Looking for recommendations on what to buy for the applications and where to buy. I have heard some advice to try a business called U Kill Em.
Old 06-13-2018, 10:11 AM
Default My input

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cwg1168 View Post
I am new to the Villages and want to take on Pest and Weed control to save money. Looking for recommendations on what to buy for the applications and where to buy. I have heard some advice to try a business called U Kill Em.
You do not mention your experience. The cooperative extension is quite helpful. As an ex-New Yorker, I recall a lecture where the speaker asked how many were northerners.
The enxt line, and so true is much of what you used to do up north is wrong here. Our growing season is about 10 months long. For WEEDS it is about 14 months out of the 12.

You do not say how big your property is. Your type of grass etc. Most everyone here has either St Augustine or Empire Zoyzia. There care is different. Weed controls that you can use on Empire Zoysia will KILL St Augustine. Each has pluses and minuses. In any case I do not think you can. I KNOW YOU SHOULD NOT try to change from what you have to the other. Properties are connected. If, you change your type of grass it will CREEP into your neighbors.

As to weedkillers. All that is important is the chemicals in it. I prefer liquid because IN MY OPINION it works faster.
The granular needs to get wet to work. OH and it needs to get wet without being washed off-HUH? One of the most widely used weed killers-broad leaf weedkiller-is 24D.
If, I recall it was invented about 1910. It is way off patent. You will find if it has a NAME ON IT like Ortho, Scotts, Bayer it will cost you far more than if you buy it from say a farm supply under it's chemical name.