Grass type question

Closed Thread
Old 11-19-2017, 10:02 AM
Veteran member
Default Grass type question

I’ve been a New Englander for most of my life so I’m just learning about all this Florida stuff. My question of the day relates to grass type. I have a few places in my new courtyard villa yard where I would like to throw down some grass seed. What type should I buy? I’m not even sure what type of grass I have. I’ve pulled up some grass near the sprinkler heads and whatever I have has real deep roots. Can anyone educate me?
Thanks in advance,
Bruce
Old 11-19-2017, 10:09 AM
Sage
Thanked 8,930 Times in 2,700 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brucernelson View Post
I’ve been a New Englander for most of my life so I’m just learning about all this Florida stuff. My question of the day relates to grass type. I have a few places in my new courtyard villa yard where I would like to throw down some grass seed. What type should I buy? I’m not even sure what type of grass I have. I’ve pulled up some grass near the sprinkler heads and whatever I have has real deep roots. Can anyone educate me?
Thanks in advance,
Bruce
Floraltam is the grass most commonly used for residential homes in the Villages. It is a type of St. Augustine grass. It grows at night and goes dormant during cold season. Best to wait until spring to plant unless putting down established sod. You can buy plugs on-line and plant them in the spring.
Old 11-19-2017, 10:22 AM
Platinum member

If you are in a village on the north side of 466 or south side to Poinciana, you have St Augustine grass. The Villages switched to Zoysia grass in 2010 going south starting at Pennecamp.
We're from MA and struggled trying to get a good looking lawn with several companies and then by ourselves with Scotts Southern fertilizer. Tried for 3 years and then found Lesco at Home Depot and we spread every 3 months. It does not include a weed killer so in between we spread Scotts weed and feed. Now the lawn is great, finally.