How do you take care of your palm tree?

Old 05-29-2020, 05:07 AM
Default How do you take care of your palm tree?

Hi! I have planted a Pindo Palm tree in my backyard. Since I'm not a pro grower, I want to get to know some tricks & tips about growing palm trees. Please, feel free to drop some lines in this thread. Especially interested in fertilizers for palm trees. I found an interesting article about fertilizers while surfing, so currently choosing out of these options. What fertilizers fit better for my case and what should I put my attention on while choosing?

Last edited by GwenR; 07-08-2020 at 11:04 PM.

Old 05-29-2020, 05:14 AM
Sage
Location: South of 466a, if you don't like me.......I live in Orlando.
Thanked 9,755 Times in 3,630 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by GwenR View Post
Hi! I have planted a Pindo Palm tree in my backyard. Since I'm not a pro grower, I want to get to know some tricks & tips about growing palm trees. Please, feel free to drop some lines in this thread. Especially interested in fertilizers for palm trees. What fertilizers fit better for my case and what should I put my attention on while choosing?

The garden shop at Lowes was very helpful and informative. I never fertilized my palms (palms survive "in the wild", without but), now it give them a kicker every year.

Old 05-29-2020, 06:15 AM
Sage

Jim Davis of the ag extension service has given lectures in the past at the rec centers on the care and feeding of palms. With the COVID-19 situation, I doubt there will be an opportunity to see him in the near future but you might want to look out for his lectures if they return in the more distant future. One recommendation he did make was to use Lesco 8-2-12-4 fertilizer. I use that on my Sylvester Palms, not sure if it is appropriate for Pindos. It is most easily obtained from fertilzerdirect.com. If you have a specific issue I believe you can e-mail Jim. I don't recall his e-mail address but you should be able to find it via Google.