Landscape Costs

Closed Thread
Old 07-09-2021, 07:37 AM
Platinum member
Thanked 1,862 Times in 785 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Catwntrstn View Post
I got a quote for a very small area in my front yard. Some items listed: removing pine straw - $250. Place matting down - $150. I just don’t get it, really? I can buy a roll of garden matting at Lowe’s for $12.99. I only need 3 tons of gravel. Is there a place where a resident can purchase a load of rocks? I’m not doing this for a showcase, I just want some very basic, minimal work done. Total quote $2550.
I’m new to TV, this seems outrageous to me. What am I missing?
Can I do some or all of this myself?
Pardon my laughter. Three tons is 6,000 pounds. Have you ever shoveled 6,000 pounds of gravel? That’s like shoveling two SUVs or four or five golf carts. Do you own a big, sturdy wheelbarrow? A little one won’t do it. Can you push it and dump it? Can you do all this in Florida in July? I’ve shoveled tons of gravel and tons of soil mix. It is a LOT of work. I would pay a lot to never have to do that again. Sorry. I know the bill hurts. Get competitive bids if you like. Would you like to use only documented workers, or are you okay with workers who are afraid of being deported and willing to work for less money. I have friends who hire undocumented Guatemalans at a gas station, drive them to their house, pay them each $15 an hour and a rotisserie chicken for lunch. But they don’t have their own tools—you provide them. And they may not know how to do the landscaping the way you want it.
Old 07-09-2021, 07:44 AM
Veteran member
Thanked 1,204 Times in 465 Posts