Sand/pebble garden in Buttonwood

Closed Thread
Old 05-25-2011, 07:58 AM
Gold member
Smile Sand/pebble garden in Buttonwood

We have lived in TV for a year, and our constant "tweeking" of the lawn has driven us crazy. First it was grubs eating the roots, then it froze, then it had to be thatched due to damage caused by grubs, and so on. We went to Sea World recently and I admired the sand/pebble gardens throughout the park and thought such a thing would be an excellent replacement for our "lawn". Can anyone offer advice on how to do this, recommend a landscaper, and while I understand we have to leave SOME grass, does anyone know what percentage? Thank you'all.
Old 06-03-2011, 01:36 PM

Please call me i am a landscaper at Fairfield farms nurseries on hwy 301 i can help you with your garden i am a landscape designer and can help you with any type of landscaping project you wish. Thank you Jay @ Fairfield Farms (352)748-7337
Old 06-08-2011, 08:48 AM
Location: PBG originally NYC. Moving to The Villages in 2012!

Hi
In your post, Shrandell, you write that you understand we have to leave some grass........
Is that true? I've noticed some homes with very nice attractive shrubbery and rock landscaping. Is there something somewhere in writing that a homeowner needs a percentage of grass? Grass in not environmentally friendly in Florida, so my partner and I would prefer to avoid using it. Also, have you been able to replace your lawn? Hope everything has worked out!
Old 06-08-2011, 09:33 AM

Just remember everything you do needs prior approval from the ARC. I have also heard about some % of grass but have seen nothing on paper. I would say just submit it for review and see what they say. It is a very easy process.
Old 06-08-2011, 03:07 PM
Platinum member
Default Okay, here I go!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chocolaht View Post
Hi
In your post, Shrandell, you write that you understand we have to leave some grass........