Flu Shots Now Available

Closed Thread
Old 08-15-2020, 07:57 AM

My PC Dr recommended mid Oct and not to get flu shot earlier.
Old 08-15-2020, 08:07 AM

No it is not. Medical and prescription covers it. I'm a pharmacy technician for CVS located inside Target.
Old 08-15-2020, 08:08 AM
Sage
Thanked 1,661 Times in 727 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredguy123 View Post
No, Shingrix is not covered by Medicare.
Fortunately Mrs. Guy and myself were covered by our Medicare Advantage Plan. We did have a co-pay of $1.00 for each shot.
Old 08-15-2020, 08:09 AM
theruizs

Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredguy123 View Post
I don't want to start a stampede. I don't know anything about a shortage. But, I do know that, when the new Shingles vaccine came out, it was readily available, and I got it immediately. No waiting. But, within a few months, there was a 3 to 4 month waiting list for it. Apparently, companies who make these vaccines don't know what the demand will be.
They are two very different vaccines with different needs and availabilities. Manf. know that people of all ages are going to want the flu vaccine and prepare accordingly. Shingrix is mostly only for older adults. So a shortage of the latter has nothing to do with the former. Starting threads with talk about shortages in this current environment is not a responsible thing to do.
Old 08-15-2020, 08:16 AM

I'm a pharmacy technician for 12 years now and I get my flu shot as soon as we get them in. The shot last for about 9 months so there is no such thing as getting it to early. There is such a thing as getting it to late. It takes a week to be come 100% effective. We have all shots available pneumonia, shingles, high dose flu shot, etc. We do give a $5 coupon for Target for the flu shot. No appointment needed so I hope to see you soon.

Last edited by bjd0105; 08-15-2020 at 08:36 AM.
Old 08-15-2020, 08:18 AM
Soaring Eagle member
Thanked 1,041 Times in 368 Posts

Quote: