Ivermectin to Prevent COVID Transmission

Closed Thread
Old 12-30-2020, 08:02 AM

sounds like it. is snake oil
Old 12-30-2020, 08:10 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenflash245 View Post
Yeah that’s why ER Doctors are prescribing it...
Old 12-30-2020, 08:10 AM
Platinum member

good grief, next thing that happens is that people will start using their dogs medicine. just like hydroxychloroquine, there needs to be more robust studies done. as a pharmacist I was always amazed at people who were concerned about the side effects of their prescribed medication but were taking multiple herbal supplements that weren't regulated or standardized.
Old 12-30-2020, 08:11 AM

While ivermectin seems to help reduce viral load in patients, it has not been shown to have any prophylactic properties, thus far, and should probably only be used after infection is confirmed. For general prophylaxis purposes melatonin, zinc and vitamins b1 and C are known to be safe and anecdotally seem to reduce infection rates. (Latest study on melatonin found that among some sub groups those taking it had a 28% lower infection rate when other factors are accounted for.)
Old 12-30-2020, 08:17 AM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenflash245 View Post
Read the link I posted above. Don't just browse it. Read it. There are randomized controlled trials. It's all there in detail with references.

These are some of the best clinicians in the world who are recommending it. This is a group of doctors who have more peer reviewed papers papers than _ANYONE_ on critical care.
Old 12-30-2020, 08:18 AM
Sage

I think there is a human form of ivermectin (pills). I've read it has shown good results. On another note in cream form without an RX it can be used for rosacea. I've used it for that issue. Big Pharma would rather use expensive meds....my opinion...that fits a different narrative.
Old 12-30-2020, 08:21 AM

Just checked there, and they don’t seem to have it. Did I miss something?