Living Wills V.S. Health Care Power of Attorneys

Closed Thread
Old 08-18-2007, 05:33 AM
Default Living Wills V.S. Health Care Power of Attorneys

Yes I am a nurse and work in surgical services so one of my responsibilities to check to see if a customer (LOL notice the upgrade from patient) has any advance directives. FYI a living will is only a "suggestion" as to what you want done. If there is ANY family member who chooses to ignore the Living Will and tells the doctor to "save Mom....do EVERYTHING". Everything will be done until there is a CONSENSUS of family member to stop doing EVERYTHING and that isn't an easy thing to get in the middle of a health care crisis. Translation a living will isn't worth much. A "Heath Care Power of Attorney" designates ONE person to make your health care decisions. Their decisions will override even someone closer in relationship. It is essential that the Health Care POA has the guts to stand up to "Aunt Tillie" and say "NO!!! Mom didn't want to live the next three years in a nursing home pooping in her bed".
Old 08-18-2007, 03:36 PM
Sage
Default Re: Living Wills V.S. Health Care Power of Attorneys

Villager Judy:

Good information about having a Health Care POA. Is there an "on-line" form that one can fill out and have notarized, or is it necessary to use a Florida lawyer?
Old 09-07-2007, 06:13 PM
jerseygirl13