Need advice

Closed Thread
Old 03-28-2023, 08:12 PM
Default Need advice

My neighbor has grown increasingly confused and forgetful over the past year or two and has somehow become convinced that he owns my house. He is constantly wandering around my property, ringing the doorbell, entering my lanai and once actually managed to get into my house while I was away. I think he somehow got through the lock on my sliding door. He is a former LEO so probably knows how to do that. I've since put lock bars in the tracks of the sliders and while I am less worried about him getting in again I'm still a bit nervous about the situation. I can't see this ending well.

My question is what advice would you put forth to help me deal with this? I don't know anything about his medical situation but it seems to me that he maybe has some form of dementia and I have no experience dealing with that. I don't want to do anything that will make things worse but clearly this can't go on and I am going to have to do something. Help?
Old 03-28-2023, 08:41 PM
Sage
Thanked 6,151 Times in 2,249 Posts

Do you know if he lives alone, or anybody in his family that can be contacted, if not then a call to elder care would be appropriate. This sounds like a situation that could get very bad very quickly. The county mental health personnel should be able to give you a hand getting to the correct agency.
Old 03-28-2023, 08:57 PM
Soaring Eagle member
Thanked 1,980 Times in 713 Posts

I would second elder care if he lives alone or there is no family to contact. If someone doesn’t look in on him things will get worse.
Old 03-28-2023, 09:04 PM

Call the police. If he is a retired LEO he undoubtedly owns a gun and you can't know what will set him off. Not your problem to fix his problem; the police will figure out what services he needs. The time for being 'neighborly' has passed when he trespassed into your home.
Old 03-28-2023, 10:43 PM
Platinum member