Need Health Insurance

Closed Thread
Old 10-04-2018, 05:33 AM
Gold member
Thanked 1,668 Times in 529 Posts
Default Need Health Insurance

I moved here from NY and my personal health insurance was/is 1100 a month. I surly cannot afford that here being recently retired. I'm good for another month with it. What's a boy to do after that expires? Health exchange? personal insurance? I am a Vet but seems there is a cap on coverage that is based on previous years income? Any info and direction would be appreciated.
Thanks, Steve
Old 10-04-2018, 07:32 AM
Sage
Thanked 13,583 Times in 5,183 Posts

The Obamacare website is supposed to provide an affordable insurance option with a subsidy based in income. I would start there.

Last edited by retiredguy123; 10-04-2018 at 07:38 AM.
Old 10-04-2018, 07:38 AM
Sage
Thanked 9,027 Times in 2,726 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredguy123 View Post
The Obamacare website is supposed to provide an affordable insurance option with a subsidy based in income.
That's the key word, "supposed" to. My wife and I pay $26,000 per year for insurance before co-pays and deductibles. Hardly affordable. Something needs to be changed. We don't like to be wishing we were older so we can get medicare, assuming it's still there when we turn 65.
Old 10-04-2018, 07:39 AM
Veteran member

Yes, but to get any type of subsidy, you need to have an annual income of at least $16,020 for a married couple, or $11,880 if you are single. So, if you retired early, are not drawing pension or social security yet, this makes it difficult to qualify for they subsidy.
Old 10-04-2018, 08:15 AM
Gold member