Opinions and advice about cataract surgery

Closed Thread
Old 06-15-2020, 06:45 AM

Just had mine done last month. Had mono-vision & can now see perfectly. I've had monovision for 40+ years, but Dr. Ireland told me she could not put those lenses in - only the $6000 lens because I had had lasix in the past. Didn't make sense to me (I'm a nurse) so I got second opinion for Dr. Jank of Ocala Eye who did husband's eyes. He said no problem with monovision for me despite lasix. Now seeing distance & close without glasses.
Old 06-15-2020, 06:47 AM
Sage
Thanked 1,131 Times in 417 Posts

Dr. Ireland is fantastic. The surgery procedure and the surgical team like a well-oiled machine.

Your standard choices will be a manual procedure or laser. Laser has a much higher out-of-pocket. I chose the laser and have been very pleased with the results.
Old 06-15-2020, 06:50 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by queasy27 View Post
I have not yet had my appointment with Dr. Ireland and will of course be discussing various options with her, but I'd be interested to hear other first-hand experiences and recommendations. Which type of lens did you select and were you satisfied with your decision?

I only know one person who had the surgery and her outcome wasn't the best.

Costs seem to vary quite a bit. My optometrist told me to get only what Medicare pays for: "No extras!"
I had my surgery in Columbus, Ohio by Dr. Erdey. I settled on the Crystalens which is an adaptive lens that changes focal length similar to the natural lens. The lenses cost and additional 2600 per eye but I considered that well worth it. I do not need reading glasses. I did have the "defogging" procedure that sometimes develops after the surgery done. Very quick and painless and permanent. The clarity and color changes from before/after were astounding. I've had no issues with the procedure and go back when I visit the kids each year for a followup.
Old 06-15-2020, 06:52 AM
Default Had Cataract surgery in 2013

Quote: