Why so many more knee replacements?

Closed Thread
Old 07-19-2013, 02:03 PM
Sage

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovsthosebigdogs View Post
Villages PL, you may not have said it in THIS post, but having read most of your posts since I signed on to TOTV I feel I am familiar with your style of post and writing and I too feel you often attribute whatever goes wrong with people to their diet. If that's not true then maybe it's something you don't mean, but it appears that I am not the only one who gets that impression.
Let me explain how this post came about. I read the other thread "stories about knee replacements". I thought it was a helpful thread but there was no talk about what causes knees to wear out. And I didn't want to hijack that thread by changing the subject. So I decided to start this thread.

I have some knowledge of this subject but decided that it would be a good idea to provide a link as a backup. I should have provided two links because not all of the causes are on one link. The link I provided mentioned arthritis in paragraph 3, obesity and knee injuries in paragraph 5. I believe another link would have provided the rest including something about diet. I'll see if I can find it again.

I hesitate to explain my philosophy on diet because it's not easy to explain. Should I try again? And if I do, will anyone bother to remember? No, I don't think so because it's easier to slap a label on someone as being all this or all that.

If you like, I can make a general statement: Most degenerative diseases are caused by lifestyle. How's that? Will that do it?

Quote:
I have bone on bone arthritis in my one knee and arthritis that isn't as severe in my other knee (as well as in my hip and other places). I am a woman's size extra small so it's not from extra weight and I am not an exercise fanatic so it's not from that.
Okay, good, we know what it's not.

Quote: