New england cheaters

Closed Thread
Old 01-27-2015, 09:13 PM

I have had some experience with footballs. In all this noise about it, would someone please explain exactly what advantage is obtained with a slightly reduced PSI? I just checked one with 13 Lbs and then let out 2 for comparison. Could hardly feel the difference. I am surprised I haven't seen any of the "talking heads" on TV perform such a simple test before ranting. This is much ado about nothing, again, just like the week before most other Super Bowls. They need to fill that empty week with something.
Old 01-27-2015, 09:52 PM
Sage
Send a message via AIM to DonH57

Quote:
Originally Posted by ditka41 View Post
I have had some experience with footballs. In all this noise about it, would someone please explain exactly what advantage is obtained with a slightly reduced PSI? I just checked one with 13 Lbs and then let out 2 for comparison. Could hardly feel the difference. I am V perform such a simple test before ranting. This is much ado about nothing, again, just like the week before most other Super Bowls. They need to fill that empty week with something.
That's exactly right. All talking heads. I do know from experience that the little valve devices in football's, basket and soccer balls weaken with time and every time you pierce them to test pressure or add air will pass air. If you also familiar with Charles law of gases only inert gases do not change pressure with temperature.
Old 01-27-2015, 10:45 PM

I don't know how many times the needle would have to be inserted to lose 2 LBS due to leakage at the valve, but a game would be completed long before it happened. -- I wondered if this thread might morph into the topic of Nitrogen for your tires and applying that nonsense to footballs. Maybe some "talking head" will pick up on that one tomorrow? Helium anyone? That would add a new element to the result when they "float" a pass out to the flat.
Old 01-28-2015, 10:16 AM
Sage