![]() |
Bad Golf Ruling
Did anyone see the video of Sam Burns hitting the ball into the water on the 16th hole at the Zurich Classic? His partner, Billy Horschel, continued to insist that the ball landed outside of the penalty area, thereby allowing them to drop the ball close to the green instead of going back to the tee. No one else, including the rules official, the announcers, or other players spoke up to either agree or dispute what Horschel said. Sam Burns, who made the shot, didn't say anything. But, what I saw was a ball that clearly landed inside the penalty area. Is this a situation where the player is always right, and the rules officials are afraid to make a controversial ruling?
|
Good question.
I think this is where the honor part of the game comes in. Onus is on the player. |
I watched the replay, it definitely bounced backward into the water but I couldn't tell exactly where it hit on dry land... from the angle of the replay I couldn't see the red line???
|
Quote:
☺ |
I thought you could drop ball where it crossed the line into the penalty area. This came up several years ago with tiger when he hit out of bounds where he dropped the ball. Either way it should 1 stoke for moving ball and 1 stroke for placing it. Or at least that now I understood rules. Way I understand rules you can only place ball on green after marking it. All other placements are strokes penalty, even if you address ball and it moves that’s stroke. But, been few decades since I played tournaments.
|
Quote:
My issue was that a player should call the ruling on himself, or ask the rules official to make the ruling. In this case, Sam Burns was the player who hit the ball into the water and he should have made the initial call, subject to being overruled by the official. But, his partner, Billy Horschel, became very vocal and strongly argued that the ball definitely landed outside the penalty area. The rules official was called, and Sam Burns and the two other players in the group just stood around and apparently expressed no opinion at all. They all allowed Billy Horschel to decide the ruling. Not a big deal, but I don't think it was handled correctly. I'm glad they didn't win the tournament. |
Quote:
|
Looked to me that the ball landed in the hazard...oops penalty area, and bounced into the water. I could see the red line on my TV. I think he may have been able to take a drop further back, but not necessarily go back to the tee.
|
I think people are getting confused. If the ball goes OB, then you have to go back to where you hit the ball from and rehit with a penalty. With the situation here, it was a lateral hazard, which is indicated by the red line and stakes. If you hit the ball into that, you have the option of hitting out of the area with no penalty, or taking a drop from the point where you crossed into the hazard no nearer the hole. The only other people that can contest this, if they have no actual witness to where it went to the hazard, its usually up to the opponent to dispute what happened or where.
|
Quote:
But, the point is that golf is a game of rules and honor. Sam Burns was the guy who hit the ball into the water, and he is the one who should have either determined where the drop should be made, or ask a rules official to do it. Billy Horschel should not have interfered in that decision. Golfers can be held accountable for the decisions they make regarding the rules, and they can be penalized or even disciplined. And, the officials are there to enforce the rules. In this case, I think the rules official did not do his job, and Sam Burns wimped out. My opinion. |
Quote:
|
Where's a blimp when you need one?
|
Quote:
:coolsmiley::coolsmiley: |
All players have a responsibility to the field, to insure fair play by all players. Some, based on a few of the televised exchanges with officials, need to go back to Q School for a refresher on the rules.
|
Ruling
Going back to the tee is an option. However in this case you also have the option of going to where the ball last crossed the hazard line. Which would hav been back on the other side of the water, or on the side where he did drop it, if that was determined to have been where it last crossed. I believe any one in the foursome can make the call.
Quote:
|
Horschel and Burns were on the same team so either player can assist their team mate with rules or what they perceived happened to ball crossing hazard .
|
Bad golf ruling.
Quote:
|
But wouldn’t that mean if this team wanted to place the ball wherever they wanted, wouldn’t that mean go out in the water & get that ball then place it where you want. It’s a ball out of bounds, lost it, can’t find it. Using another ball means you lost a ball & you would have to place another ball right where you saw it go out of bounds? They’re changing rules all the time, stick to the the present ruling.
|
It's up to the player to determine where the ball crossed the line. If other players disagree they can call an official who should settle the question. If it's simply he said, he said then the player's opinion will stand unless there are multiple players objecting. The officials also have the option of calling the television booth and having the head of officiating look at any video evidence.
If their fellow competitors made no objection then they probably agreed with Billy. It seems that the OP is the only one that saw it the other way. I'm not saying that he's wrong, it's just that everyone on the course seemed to be in agreement. It is possible that they were all wrong and simply missed it. Bad calls happen in golf just like in every other sport. |
Water Hazard ruling.
What I find is that no one here plays by the real rules anyway. So it should be confusing to most. TV has hanged things as far as rulings go...Call it in you might get your two minutes of fame.
It should be decided , the drop area, by the group playing, but not everyone had the same eye line to the crossing point. So, it is as it was.! |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
only applies if it's a yellow stake hazard.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
7
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 AM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by
DragonByte SEO v2.0.32 (Pro) -
vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2025 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.