Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   Landscape Contractors & Lawn Mowing (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/landscape-contractors-lawn-mowing-272/)
-   -   Need Someone that will Thach my lawn (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/landscape-contractors-lawn-mowing-272/need-someone-will-thach-my-lawn-201110/)

cmfjr 07-11-2016 12:42 PM

Need Someone that will Thach my lawn

Looking for a recommendation for a reliable person/company to Thach my lawn. I have several areas of severely brown/dead grass from an improper irrigation schedule. The irrigation problems have been resolved and before fertilizing I want the dead grass removed. Any suggestion will be greatly appreciated.

rubicon 07-11-2016 12:47 PM

I am no expert but since the soil is so sanding here don't know that its necessary????

Dr Winston O Boogie jr 07-11-2016 12:59 PM

If it were me, I'd call in an expert to determine if thatching is necessary.

mixsonci 07-11-2016 01:12 PM

Who are the experts? I asked numerous companies about mine and they all give me the same canned answer, but offer no solutions.
e.g. under watered, over watered, water puddling and sitting too long, YET, I've been here for 3 years and it's only looked this bad in the past 2 months. I don't think anybody really has any answers,
I'm ready to give up and just let the whole darn lawn go and do what it wants. I'm so fed up with it.

cmfjr 07-11-2016 04:34 PM

Yes, 2 different lawn services suggested to remove (detach) the dead grass from under watering. Then they suggested granular fertilizer with the appropate watering. So I still need the name of someone who does Dethaching.

TV MAN 07-11-2016 04:44 PM

Massey does.

mixsonci 07-11-2016 08:24 PM