Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   The Villages, Florida, Non Villages Discussion (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/villages-florida-non-villages-discussion-93/)
-   -   AC Advice (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/villages-florida-non-villages-discussion-93/ac-advice-147634/)

Polar Bear 03-17-2015 10:48 AM

AC Advice
 
Our AC has been struggling a bit. The maintenance folks said there were indications of a leak, but they couldn't pinpoint the location of the leak. The guy was nice enough, and we've had decent experience with the company he works for. But yet he made it sound like if they can't find the location of the leak, the only way to "fix" it is to install a whole new system.

Anybody out there have any similar situations in the past? I understand the difficulty sometimes in locating a leak, but replacing a system that may be working just fine except for the leak seems ridiculous.

Any thoughts?

And just so I can plan for a worst-case-scenario (I have no intention of replacing our system unless multiple vendors say there is no other option) about what cost might I be looking for to get a new system for a ~1500 SF home?

RickeyD 03-17-2015 10:53 AM

Will the "new" system include new refrigerant lines ? The leak may be there. I would insist upon them being replaced.

redwitch 03-17-2015 02:05 PM

Having a similar problem right now on a client's house. Chuck Farrell came out and said the best way to go was to add more refrigerant and let the leak get a little larger. Once that happens, they can determine if it is a simple fix the leak, put in a new coil or replace the whole unit. Seemed like a reasonable solution to me. I would much rather do a temporary fix that works than repair/replace the wrong thing.

virgind 03-17-2015 02:30 PM

Die can be put into the system to find a leak when a leak detector cant. The only problem there is the system would have to be pumped down and new freon put in. If the leak is in one of the coils I think I would replace that coil. You can fix it but not really.

RickeyD 03-17-2015 02:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by virgind (Post 1030060)
Die can be put into the system to find a leak when a leak detector cant. The only problem there is the system would have to be pumped down and new freon put in. If the leak is in one of the coils I think I would replace that coil. You can fix it but not really.


You are incorrect. The system does not have to be pumped down to install the dye. And even if it did, after you were done the pumped down refrigerant could be released back into the system and you would lose nothing.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO v2.0.32 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.