Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   The Villages, Florida, General Discussion (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/villages-florida-general-discussion-73/)
-   -   Dead Bolts (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/villages-florida-general-discussion-73/dead-bolts-150289/)

TrudyM 04-05-2015 03:59 PM

Dead Bolts

Would it look really stupid to have a deadbolt at the bottom?
Ok I had an idea. Tell me if this is just stupid or might work.
When I was a store manager the dead bolt locks were not in the middle. In one store they were up at the top and went deep into the big header over the door. Now I didn't like it much as I had to stand on tip toe to open it. The second one however was at the bottom and the dead bolt went deep into the slab. Would this work on our existing doors?
Most of the designers including mine have front doors with side lights or double doors. The frames that the current dead bolt goes into isn't very thick. I have seen on the net were some put a heavy mending plate in-between the stud and the 1" door frame but there isn't a stud because of the sidelight and the total isn't very thick unlike having a king stud like a regular door to go into.

villagetinker 04-05-2015 04:53 PM

The police recommended a diagonal bar that runs from the door knob to the floor, this prevents the door being kicked in while you are home. It sounds like you are after security while at home, so I would go with the police recommendation. The additional dead bolts will slow your exit (if the house is on fire), and slow the rescuers if you need assistance. The diagonal bar will slow the possible intrude, and hopefully they will move on.
Just my humble opinion.

CassieInVa 04-05-2015 06:03 PM

How can I find out more about the diagonal bar and how it works? Does anyone have a recommendation for someone who could install as well?

CWGUY 04-05-2015 06:27 PM

Quote: