Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   Computer questions (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/computer-questions-92/)
-   -   Wifi signal strength (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/computer-questions-92/wifi-signal-strength-265806/)

alwann 06-15-2018 12:37 PM

Wifi signal strength
 
How might I check it? Here's the whole story. Laptop that spouse uses is located on other side of the house. It now says no networks are available and will not search for available networks. Two days ago, all was well. It works off of the Xfinity router in my office; that device is about 2 years old. Well, I haven't installed any lead walls, so why is the WiFi signal no longer getting through? Do these thing get weak with age?

Iran both a MalwearBytes scan and a Cleaner program on the laptop the other day. What, if anything, might I have deleted that could affect signal reception?

JSR22 06-15-2018 12:41 PM

Have you tried connecting moving the laptop to your office? Could be the laptop.

champion6 06-15-2018 01:07 PM

Windows PC or Apple Mac or Chromebook?

Carla B 06-15-2018 01:24 PM

Maybe your Comcast router doesn't have a strong enough signal. Our Xfinity modem also has a built-in router, Arris TG862, about three years old. Since we don't have cable TV, we use Roku to stream programs to the TV from the computer in the room with the modem. Neither the Xfinity nor the Linksys router we used could transmit a strong enough signal to the television. We were constantly losing programs. So we installed a newer, more powerful router which then caused something called NAT and screwed up the network. After delving deep into Comcast's website support I learned how to turn off the router function in the Arris. It is now operates just as a modem and the new router carries a reliable signal to other parts of the house. Roku is happy and we are happy.

rjm1cc 06-15-2018 02:28 PM

You can get an extender to help boost the signal.

alwann 06-15-2018 03:07 PM

In reply to all so far. Thanks.
Yes, the laptop reads Wifi fine when I bring it into the office. As reported, that is the issue. The signal no longer reaches the utility room work station. It used to.

I tried a Belkin extender. It says "limited." The extender gets Wifi from the router, right? When plugged in a mere 15 feet from the router it says "limited" signal. That's got to tell us something about the router. The laptop and my desk top (to which the router is connected) are both running Windows.

I guess talking/chatting with the Comcast techs is necessary. Ugh!

villagetinker 06-15-2018 03:08 PM

I am guessing there is a problem with you laptop. If you are using Windows, go to device manager and check the driver for the network adapter and see if it is up to date, if not install the update, reboot and see what happens.

SFSkol 06-15-2018 03:15 PM

CrapCleaner and Malware would have no effect on your local machine hardware settings.

Make sure you are connecting to your Comcast router private network and not the limited public XfinityWIFI. Devices sometimes find that one first when power resumes or a reboot.

JoelJohnson 06-15-2018 04:06 PM

Raise the router/modem up, if it's on the floor. If that doesn't help, can you move it to another location? Sometimes just turning it 90 degrees will work. You should have both 5mhz and 2.4mhz, have you tried connecting to each? Have you moved some furniture around? Maybe you put something in the way of the single.

I doubt it's the router/modem or your PC, nothing changed.

Kahuna32162 06-15-2018 04:09 PM

Have you rebooted the router? I know it's a simple question, but that has worked for me a few times. unplug it let it sti for a could of minutes before plugging it back in, wait for the equipment to connect and test it. We have a larger stretched Gardenia and I installed a wifi extender half way between the modem & router in the back corner of the living room and the front bedroom/office. I still don't get the "advertised" speed, but I don't think anybody else does either.

juneroses 06-15-2018 04:13 PM

There may be a key (probably in the top row on your laptop) which can turn your wireless on and off. Perhaps it was inadvertently pressed. To ID, look for a key with a picture of a tower with signals. On my laptop, there's a small red light in the corner of the key when wi-fi is on.

Addendum: Whoops, sorry. Just read that the laptop wireless does work in the office.

Pinball wizard 06-15-2018 05:07 PM

So let's recap where were are:

1. Assuming NOTHING changed in the environment.
2. Laptop works over WiFi but only at close distances but it was fine across the house before.
3. Reboot Modem/Router
4. Restart Laptop
5. Not mentioned yet: Reload WiFi driver or check the vendor website for a newer wireless driver.

If it still doesn't work properly, then I would suspect a hardware problem.

1. Assuming you have a SmartPhone, will that connect to the Router/Modem at a distance? If not, I suspect a problem with the modem/router. If it connects and runs at speed, then the Laptop is most likely the issue.

Let us know...

valuemkt 06-15-2018 05:54 PM

With the exception of Premier homes, the small footprint of villas and designers should be no problem for a modern router .. There are many to choose from at or around $ 100 .. two bands 2.4 and 5ghz .. Everyone has their favorite .. I ditched linksys and netgear after technology took us beyond a/b/g and moved to N .. I now have a TPLINK both in the Villages and the same one in a much larger multistory home in Atlanta. seldom needs a reboot .. Advice to unplug your current router and leave alone for a minute or two might solve an immediate problem, but if you needs to constantly do that its time to upgrade.

Bogie Shooter 06-15-2018 06:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by alwann (Post 1553458)
In reply to all so far. Thanks.
Yes, the laptop reads Wifi fine when I bring it into the office. As reported, that is the issue. The signal no longer reaches the utility room work station. It used to.

I tried a Belkin extender. It says "limited." The extender gets Wifi from the router, right? When plugged in a mere 15 feet from the router it says "limited" signal. That's got to tell us something about the router. The laptop and my desk top (to which the router is connected) are both running Windows.

I guess talking/chatting with the Comcast techs is necessary. Ugh!

I have called Comcast and didn’t find the call painful.
If you had called most likely the problem would be solved by now.:ho:

Daddymac 06-15-2018 06:34 PM

******** Download This ********
Check your internet speed!
Speedtest by Ookla - The Global Broadband Speed Test


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO v2.0.32 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Content, Design and Layout may not be reproduced
This site is owned and operated by TalkofTheVillages.com and is not affliated with the The Villages or The Villages development company.