Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   The Villages, Florida, General Discussion (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/villages-florida-general-discussion-73/)
-   -   Best place to sell silverware set? (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/villages-florida-general-discussion-73/best-place-sell-silverware-set-286504/)

CharTalk 03-05-2019 10:14 AM

Best place to sell silverware set?

I need to sell a complete set Oneida Tudor Plate silverware. I’ve never done this before. Any advice on how to get the best price?

bluedivergirl 03-05-2019 12:50 PM

I went through a phase where I collected vintage flatware. Sadly, silverplate as a precious metal has little value. The value is in the beauty of the piece.

A good starting point is E-Bay. You can search for your pattern, and get a feel for what others have paid. I have purchased many pieces from E-Bay. If you choose to sell on E-Bay, be careful of shipping charges. I assume your set is fairly heavy.

Another possibility is Replacements.com. If your set is desirable, they will buy it.

You could check into consignment at an antique shop, but they will take a bite out of the sale.

Good luck!

ETA: After a little research, there are several Tudor patterns. This link should help: How to Identify Oneida Tudor Silver Plate Patterns | Our Pastimes

PaulDenise 03-05-2019 01:37 PM

Doesn't look like it is worth much if it is this type:

Vintage Set of Oneida Community, Tudor Plate Silverware, Flatware--47 Pieces | eBay

If the 'plate' in the description means silver plated, then there is very little silver in the 'silverware'.

When silver was double and triple the current price, I sold some to a company that melted it down. They would only take real 'sterling' silver. After subtracting the 10% of weight that was not real silver and their 10% commission, it was funny how little a set was worth. Seemed a shame to melt it down.