Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   Computer questions (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/computer-questions-92/)
-   -   Need computer advice (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/computer-questions-92/need-computer-advice-293616/)

BobnBev 06-17-2019 03:21 PM

Need computer advice

Looks like my wife's lenovo is on the way out. Anybody recommend a good 15" laptop. Her lenovo isn't all that old, and it's very slow. I'll be watching this thread closely, thanx. Bob:ho:

villagetinker 06-17-2019 03:38 PM

We have had very good luck well both Dell and Toshiba laptops, now depending on what she does, a chromebook may be a betteroption, but I have NO experience with these machines.

OMG! Just noticed I hit 5000 posts!!

Arctic Fox 06-17-2019 03:52 PM

I am thinking of buying an Acer with a Ryzen processor - check them out at Staples to see if one would meet your needs

BobnBev 06-17-2019 03:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by villagetinker (Post 1658477)
We have had very good luck well both Dell and Toshiba laptops, now depending on what she does, a chromebook may be a betteroption, but I have NO experience with these machines.

Congrats!!!!

Chromebook is a separate OS, and is available in most laptops. I think I will stay with Windows OS. Seems like CB is very limited.

BobnBev 06-17-2019 03:55 PM

I have a Dell, and am satisfied with it, although it is very heavy.

CFrance 06-17-2019 04:27 PM

I have an old Dell that is still running. Windows XP! It weighs a ton. I keep it for sentimental reasons.

I have a new Dell that is very light. I bought it a year ago when my Toshiba crashed. I think my new Dell has a solid state hard drive, which makes it lighter. However, it's not 15". The graphics are excellent, and the colors are crystal clear.

It's an Inspiron 13 5000. I bought it in France when my Toshiba abruptly up and died. I'm not sure the model is named the same in the US.