Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   The Villages, Florida, General Discussion (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/villages-florida-general-discussion-73/)
-   -   Are some Villages locations better than others? (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/villages-florida-general-discussion-73/some-villages-locations-better-than-others-298594/)

Oldchief5654 09-28-2019 05:58 PM

Are some Villages locations better than others?

Newbie here and not yet a Villages owner. But, we're strongly considering a possible move here.
My question is, are some Villages better or considered more desirable than others? Also, is there much difference in the property tax rates in the counties wherein Villages neighborhoods are located? I'm particularly interested in Marion County Villages locations, as its a bit closer to our 2 of our 3 grown kids, who live in north FL and is also farther away from the Orlando metro area, which I'd like to avoid. I know noting about any of the various Villages developments but it just seems reasonable that some may be better and/or more desirable than others?
Will appreciate input from "seasoned" Villages residents. Thanks!

REDCART 09-28-2019 06:11 PM

You’ve asked a very provocative question and many will no doubt have opinions. SUMTER County has the lowest taxes of the three counties. That’s undisputed! Some villages are closer to shopping than others. Villages located at the fringes of TV, especially those next to undeveloped non-Villages properties, have a high risk of being neighbors with commercial use or some other objectionable development. Proximity to Orlando, even in the most southern of the new villages, is a non issue. You really need to spend time here and judge for yourself. Good luck with your search.

Velvet 09-28-2019 06:19 PM