Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   The Villages, Florida, General Discussion (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/villages-florida-general-discussion-73/)
-   -   Plumbing Questions About the New Home (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/villages-florida-general-discussion-73/plumbing-questions-about-new-home-299687/)

Pixelpups 11-05-2019 08:56 PM

Plumbing Questions About the New Home

Village newbie here.
Why is there a vertical pipe attached to the drain under the sink?
Second question: Why does it take so long for the water in the kitchen faucet to heat up? (We have a Gardenia.)
Thanks.

retiredguy123 11-05-2019 09:04 PM

The vertical pipe under the kitchen sink is called an "automatic vent". It is used to vent the fixture because it is not convenient to pipe a vent to the roof at that location. All fixtures must be vented to facilitate proper drainage from the fixture. Most other fixtures are vented through the roof.

The time it takes to get hot water to any faucet is based on the distance from the faucet to the water heater.

Altavia 11-05-2019 10:17 PM

A hot water recirculation system can be added to have hot water available more quickly.

Hot Water Recirculation Systems - InterNACHI

EdFNJ 11-05-2019 10:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robbie0723 (Post 1693453)
A hot water recirculation system can be added to have hot water available more quickly.

Hot Water Recirculation Systems - InterNACHI