Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   The Villages, Florida, General Discussion (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/villages-florida-general-discussion-73/)
-   -   Gutters (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/villages-florida-general-discussion-73/gutters-303245/)

ExFed 02-27-2020 10:22 AM

Gutters

I'm a newbie first poster, but a regular reader of TOTV beginning several months before moving here from Colorado in December.

I've noticed something about the gutters on my house that I've never seen before in other parts of the country I have lived in. In several locations the gutters empty straight into the ground rather than carrying water several feet away so as to avoid possible penetration into the homes.

Maybe one reason for this is because most homes here are built on a slab and have no basement, but wouldn't it still be a best practice to have the gutters discharge water towards the swells that are between the homes?

I was hoping those of you who are more familiar with construction practices here could tell me the reason gutter discharge is designed this way here.

vintageogauge 02-27-2020 10:49 AM

The water is most likely going into another pipe underground and then out away from the house. Ours go under our landscape and then out into the lawn area.

retiredguy123 02-27-2020 01:02 PM