Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   Computer questions (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/computer-questions-92/)
-   -   Pool contractor please ! (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/computer-questions-92/pool-contractor-please-312823/)

Lindaapril 11-06-2020 08:06 AM

Pool contractor please !

Hi, I am new to the villages and would appreciate any recommendations for a pool contractor. (Other than TD) . Any feedback would be great. Just looking for a fair and reputable company.

PoolBrews 11-06-2020 08:14 AM

I would get at least 3 quotes from companies with high ratings. You will find the most folks here will say T&D... that is because T&D is local and is the contractor that The Villages uses. They do good work, but cost far more than other companies outside of the bubble. If you don't mind paying 25%-50% more, then T&D is fine. My pool was done by Premier Pools of Central Florida out of Winter Park and I couldn't be happier. My pool was $65K - T&D wanted $90K, and that was with older automation, an undersized filter, and an undersized salt water generator (SWG) cell.

When I asked them to meet the same hardware as Premier, I was looking at another $10K. This is why I say - get multiple quotes, then make sure they all have the same components. Things to check:

1) Verify filter size - the smaller the filter, the more often you will be cleaning it.
2) Look at pool automation. It will make your life easier, and will save on electricity over the long run.
3) Make sure you get auto fill/drain. Here in FL with the rain and sun we get you'll be constantly adding water or manually draining without it.
4) Make sure you get a variable speed pump. A VSP can save $20-$40 per month when run at 40%.
5) If going salt water (highly recommended), make sure the SWG cell is rated at least 2x the size of your pool.