Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   Computer questions (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/computer-questions-92/)
-   -   Need help in Connecting a new DVD player to TV........ I am not a techie person (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/computer-questions-92/need-help-connecting-new-dvd-player-tv-i-am-not-techie-person-316644/)

E Cascade 02-22-2021 12:15 PM

Need help in Connecting a new DVD player to TV........ I am not a techie person

I have a 2 yr old 52" TV and it does not have a DVD slot. Grrrr. Now just bought from Best Buy a separate plug in DVD unit. Then had to buy a HDMI cord. Thought it would be easy to just plug it in.....Nope.

What's the difference between an HDMI 1/ARC and an HDMI 2 port on the TV?

Do I just connect HDMI Cable *1*2 of the DVD unit, directly to TV where I have two slots, an HDMI 1 and another HDMI 2?

There are other choices which say "Connecting to TV via Sound Bar/AV amplifier (receiver)" What are they for?

I have Comcast internet and TV service. What are the choices 4k AV amplifier and Non-4K AV amplifier choices for?

Does this have to be wired thru the modem or directly to the TV?

bagboy 02-22-2021 12:32 PM

Not knowing the what tv remote you have, I suggest that you go to YouTube and search for "connect DVD player to tv" Watch one or more how to videos. Watch it several times. You will amaze yourself with new to you technology skills you can learn. Good Luck!!!

retiredguy123 02-22-2021 12:38 PM

Do you have a soundbar or an amplifier, or are you just using the built-in television speakers for sound? If you want to use the built in TV speakers, just plug the hdmi cable into the TV, and the other end into the DVD player. It doesn't matter which hdmi input you use. It should work fine. If you are using an external sound source, it will be a little more complicated.

kathyspear 02-22-2021 12:53 PM