Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   The Villages, Florida, Non Villages Discussion (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/villages-florida-non-villages-discussion-93/)
-   -   Condo or Home/Villa? (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/villages-florida-non-villages-discussion-93/condo-home-villa-319086/)

Broncosap 04-28-2021 07:22 PM

Condo or Home/Villa?

As a likely future resident, i am simply not understanding the demand for single family homes vs Condominiums, and yes im well aware that there are simply no Condo's or HOA's in TV.
Please convince me that, as a resident of TV, your choice of a home, at age 55+, with the burden of maintenance (roof, painting, grass, sprinklers, cable, etc) has been a good decision, vs what a condo may similarly provide, with an HOA fee.
I feel that you either pay for your amenities through a CDD, and home maintenance by check book, or both of these through an HOA, the total costs being a toss up.
I would love to get feedback to help me figure this dilemma out.

CFrance 04-28-2021 07:28 PM

People like their privacy. Shared walls don't appeal to many. Many retirees can afford the maintenance on a single-family home. And there are some attached townhouses in TV, and some are for sale.

JohnN 04-28-2021 07:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CFrance (Post 1936791)
People like their privacy. Shared walls don't appeal to many. Many retirees can afford the maintenance on a single-family home. And there are some attached townhouses in TV, and some are for sale.

Ditto.

I've got a villa with a very low maintenance yard. Other stuff, I deal with it.
I lived in apartments when I was younger and didn't care much for loud neighbors, etc. sharing my wall, so I like a bit of space even if it's not all that much. My lot is a corner and oriented so it feels extremely private.

retiredguy123 04-28-2021 07:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Broncosap (Post 1936790)