Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   Talk of the Books (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/talk-books-126/)
-   -   Unbroken (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/talk-books-126/unbroken-39425/)

Ohiogirl 06-13-2011 07:29 AM

Unbroken

by Laura Hillebrand. Anyone else read this? I'm just getting into it and finding it fascinating - and I don't usually read non-fiction. My Ohio book club is discussing it on Wed. and it is starting out so good I think I will get thru it in time. I got a late start.

kittylecroix 06-13-2011 08:51 AM

Unbroken

I read it and also found it facinating. It's hard to believe the suffering the main character endured and survived. I find reading about WWII much more interesting than I did when I was in school. It's unbelieveable what human beings will do to each other. War is a terrible thing.

jackz 06-13-2011 08:59 AM

Outstanding book.

I had heard the stories about how inhumane the japanese treated POW's but this book brought it home.

Also, the subject of the book, Louie Zamperini is in his 90's and according to his website is available for motivational speeches. Amazing.

Great read.

Pturner 06-13-2011 05:48 PM

Hi Ohio,
My hubby just finished it and raved about it. It's on my reading list.

GTTPF 10-19-2011 11:01 PM

I read it also and liked it very much. It was amazing what he went through in WW2. I would highly recommend this book. :coolsmiley:

jblum315 10-20-2011 04:39 AM

Sorry to be out of step - I got bored with it. Bought it on the strength of "Seabiscuit" but this one seemed such an old familiar story.

Taj44 10-20-2011 04:58 AM

We read it for our book club as well - fascinating look at world war II, and the limits of human endurance and suffering. Our club gave it a high rating.

gatherer47 10-21-2011 08:23 AM

I had heard about this book and found a copy at a Goodwill store in perfect condition for two dollars.Starting it today.