Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   Do It Yourself (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/do-yourself-210/)
-   -   Garage is at 100F, help (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/do-yourself-210/garage-100f-help-39685/)

Luv2travel 06-22-2011 03:20 PM

Garage is at 100F, help

My garage now reads at 100F which in my view is way to high. What have you all done to help this situation. I did insulate my garage door but that didn't really help too much.

Uptown Girl 06-22-2011 03:38 PM

I'm no expert... and I haven't lived an entire Florida summer yet, but "up north" in Illinois our summers can get pretty hot and humid.

Two easy things I do are:
Keep a standing fan to use (while the overhead door is open) when I'm working out there.
Keep a hot car on the driveway until the engine has cooled down.

I also keep the garage clutter free (no dead stuffy space)
Might help until you find a better remedy!

l2ridehd 06-22-2011 03:56 PM

Get a solar attic fan installed and then pull down your attic stairs about 6 inches and place something there to prevent it from closing. Let the hot air rise to the attic and be vented by the solar fan.

BowleesCreekYachtClub 06-22-2011 04:24 PM

We take out the attic door and when we are home we open the garage door about one foot at the bottom - makes a big difference.

rubicon 06-22-2011 04:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Luv2travel (Post 364665)
My garage now reads at 100F which in my view is way to high. What have you all done to help this situation. I did insulate my garage door but that didn't really help too much.

I choose not to leave my garage door open because of all those critters lurking here and fro. so I called Thumper and he installed an overhead screen door which help alleviate some of the heat while providing a barrier against critters. It was a good investment

Bob45 06-22-2011 05:47 PM