Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   The Villages, Florida, General Discussion (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/villages-florida-general-discussion-73/)
-   -   Golf Ball Snatcher (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/villages-florida-general-discussion-73/golf-ball-snatcher-52665/)

jtdraig 05-02-2012 09:01 AM

Golf Ball Snatcher
 
Yesterday morning I hit a screamer down the left side of the fairway at Bacall #9:pepper2:but unfortunately it hit a sprinkler head and bounced high in the air and rolled into the gutter on Canal Street:cus: Amazingly, a passing car stopped dead in the middle of the road, a woman jumped out, snagged the ball, and headed back to her car:swear:. I yelled at her, she stopped in her tracks, looked at her husband, looked at me, and dropped the ball back into the street.:spoken: Meanwhile, two cars had stopped behind them. She jumped back out of the car, snagged the ball, horns were honking, and we yelled again. This time she tossed the ball up onto the golf course, jumped in her car, and they took off. I got to my ball, properly repositioned it, and put it on the green.:laugh: Only in The Villages.......LOL:beer3:

villager 05-02-2012 09:06 AM

Now that is funny. Did you feel like you were on one of those punked shows?

Bill-n-Brillo 05-02-2012 09:08 AM

I keep telling Sandy she needs to stop doing that........... :shocked:

Bill :)

BostonCelt 05-02-2012 09:17 AM

Yet ANOTHER reason for driving defensively, both on the tee and on the road, at TV.

Patiently awaiting for someone to post your true accurate official legal score for the hole......

graciegirl 05-02-2012 10:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BostonCelt (Post 487222)
Yet ANOTHER reason for driving defensively, both on the tee and on the road, at TV.

Patiently awaiting for someone to post your true accurate official legal score for the hole......

Let me see, It was one out, three in,four out, seven in.........this is challenging! ;).

ajbrown 05-02-2012 10:51 AM

Having fun....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BostonCelt (Post 487222)
Yet ANOTHER reason for driving defensively, both on the tee and on the road, at TV.

Patiently awaiting for someone to post your true accurate official legal score for the hole......

Are you teasing me for the last time I commented on a thread like this because I did not feel like making the standard comment on how crazy I felt the people behaved that are the subject of the thread :ho:

You asked for it this time :laugh:

It comes down to if Canal Street is deemed out of bounds where the ball came to rest. I suspect it is, so the player has no score for the hole.

The player would lose the hole in match play and would be disqualified in medal as he never finished the hole. Decision 15/9 covers this.

USGA: Rules and Decisions

Even if in bounds, we would need to investigate what the player means by "properly repositioned it", prior to hitting the ball ...

PS. I apologize to anyone who takes this too seriously :beer3:

BostonCelt 05-02-2012 11:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ajbrown (Post 487274)
Are you teasing me for the last time I commented on a thread......[/SIZE]

Ha ha! Nope, not teasing at all. This is something for which I think I need to know the correct answer, 'cause my game is at the point where....up to now....I'd thought I'd seen/heard/done it all. And now I fear a repeat!

So...how does one play it? What if she threw it on to the fairway? Or what if he had to follow her home to retreive it??

We can kindly assume he one-putted, right?

Mikeod 05-02-2012 11:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bill-n-Brillo (Post 487213)
I keep telling Sandy she needs to stop doing that........... :shocked:

Bill :)

Bad Bill, bad, bad. Now go to your room! :spoken:

Bill-n-Brillo 05-02-2012 12:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mikeod (Post 487297)
Bad Bill, bad, bad. Now go to your room! :spoken:

I'm still laughing out loud............. :1rotfl:

Bill :wave:

mac 05-02-2012 01:11 PM

The street is OB. Designations for OB are found on the scorecard. In this case it is the "inside edge of street curbs". He should have hit a "provisional" from the tee box if he was not sure it was OB. In a tounament, if he discovered ball#1 was in fact OB he plays the "provisional" (hitting 3). If he did not hit a provisional, he must go back to the tee and hit again (hitting 3). In casual play in this situation, we sometimes drop it inbounds to save time but that is not the correct procedure.

EdV 05-02-2012 02:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mac (Post 487370)
..In casual play in this situation, we sometimes drop it inbounds to save time but that is not the correct procedure.

And it's not golf either.

entemedor 05-02-2012 02:33 PM

Which reminds me of a story. Years ago, up north, I was walking alongside a golf course. Long par 3, green shaded by a huge oak tree, tall chain-link fence between where I was walking and the course itself.

So this foursome was teeing off and one of the guys hit his ball into the tree...kind of a line drive shot. He was way, way left of the green. The ball did its usual whack, whack etc. as it bounced from limb to limb, then dropped on my side of the fence. I looked back at the golfers and they started walking down off the tee and I couldn't see them anymore.

Soooo...I picked up the ball, tossed it over the fence onto the green. It ended up about 3 feet from the pin and I kept on going.

Bet that golfer is still talking about that shot.

:-)

l2ridehd 05-02-2012 06:11 PM

I was playing in a club tournament once and on a par three, something amazing happened. This a very elevated tee, maybe 50 feet above the green and the tees were playing about 160 yards that day. This is a true story. I hit my ball and it landed on the green about 25 feet from the pin. My opponent hit his shot dead at the pin, ball was rolling toward the hole, looked like a possible hole in one or at least a very close shot. When the ball was maybe 3 feet from the hole, a dog came running across the green, grabbed his ball and took off like his tail was on fire. We laugh about that every time we play that par 3.

uujudy 05-02-2012 07:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by entemedor (Post 487406)
Which reminds me of a story. Years ago, up north, I was walking alongside a golf course. Long par 3, green shaded by a huge oak tree, tall chain-link fence between where I was walking and the course itself.

So this foursome was teeing off and one of the guys hit his ball into the tree...kind of a line drive shot. He was way, way left of the green. The ball did its usual whack, whack etc. as it bounced from limb to limb, then dropped on my side of the fence. I looked back at the golfers and they started walking down off the tee and I couldn't see them anymore.

Soooo...I picked up the ball, tossed it over the fence onto the green. It ended up about 3 feet from the pin and I kept on going.

Bet that golfer is still talking about that shot.

:-)

Hahahahaha! :1rotfl:

PPreu 05-03-2012 12:50 PM

Outside Force
 
There is a rule in the USGA specifically governing this type of "activity". I dont have it in front of me, so Im paraphrasing. "If an outside force moves the golf ball, the ball is to be replaced as near as is possible to its original position, with no penalty." Basically this is for the occasional animal, which I have seen, that picks up a golf ball and takes off with it. (NOPE, NOT CALLING SAID WOMAN AN ANIMAL, though a retriever is a type of dog!)

Now, seeing as it was apparently OB, when moved by the outside force, all bets are off and it is to be played as an OB, that is re-hitting from the original spot, incurring a two stroke penalty.

Whew, I need a beer!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO v2.0.32 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2025 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.