Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   Just For Fun (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/just-fun-109/)
-   -   Have you ever... (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/just-fun-109/have-you-ever-73398/)

LI SNOWBIRD 03-24-2013 06:31 PM

Have you ever...

[SIZE="5" ]taken part in a civil demonstration? I went to college '67-'72 and participated in my share of anti-war demonstrations and gatherings. It was the time of hippies and free love ( though I was a hostage in the sexual revolution). I know this is dated and sexist , but I also participated in a panty raid which had a couple of hundred horny college males. i will say it was spectaularly unsucessful -- though an experience.

I worked as a civil servent and picketed the local government building non-violently when the employer staged a lock out.
So that was is my callow youth when I was in " My salad days,
When I was green in judgment, cold in blood".

I certainly hope you can remember when.[/SIZE]
:rant-rave:

DougB 03-24-2013 07:06 PM

Protested at the Republican Convention in Miami Beach in 1972. Got gassed by the police. Also participated in a "sit-in at the "U". I think that was about the same year.

quirky3 03-25-2013 07:13 AM

Yes, Richard Nixon came to Syracuse and we protested. We sang "The Sounds of Silence". That is an oldie but goodie, like all of the protesters now!

DandyGirl 03-25-2013 07:34 AM

I came from a small town but we had a park named Peace Park. A group of us staged a protest against the Vietnam War. I was 8 months pregnant and carried a sign stating "I don't want my child to go to war!". :shocked:

DonH57 03-25-2013 08:48 AM