Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   Contractors and Services (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/contractors-services-91/)
-   -   Velux or SolaTube skylight? (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/contractors-services-91/velux-solatube-skylight-9648/)

villages07 09-10-2007 08:02 AM

Velux or SolaTube skylight?

I was at Market of Marion last week and both SolarGuys (Solatube brand) and SkyTec (Velux brand) solar tube vendors were there. To my uneducated eye, the Velux brand seemed to have improved on the design of the solatube (the original patent) in how its mounted to the roof and attached to the ceiling. Velux seems to be less expensive too.

Anybody else do product research to compare the two? Anybody use SkyTec to install? Comments on their price/performance.

Thanks...

handieman 09-10-2007 09:20 AM

Re: Velux or SolaTube skylight?

I studied them all and went with solarlights Inc out of Ocala. Good product, right price, wonderfull installation. We installed 2 10" in the bathrooms and one 14" in the kitchen. Donna did the same thing, check with her also.
handie :joke:

villages07 09-10-2007 01:38 PM

handie...thanks for the info; do you know the name of the manufacturer of the product? also, how much did they charge for the 14"?

Good to see the 'old' handie avatar picture is back :o

villages07 02-21-2008 09:26 PM

greg..... I agree with you; after lots of study and asking a number of people, I decided to go with the Solar Guys and the solatube product. It is very bright and they did a good, efficient job on the install. Just remember to ask them to show you all the diffuser (light covers) styles they have....the standard one is plain; they have a fancier one for $20 extra.

handieman 02-21-2008 11:46 PM

Solarlights Inc in Ocala
2 -10" & 1- 13" $1138.00 installed and very pleased (2007 prices)
Handie :joke:

golfnut 02-21-2008 11:55 PM